I was inspired by this post about why every father should bring his toddler out for a mini adventure. Without getting too sappy, I loved it. Totally different take on the work/life balance idea and maybe even modern fatherhood:
"I always have this desire of imparting my experience and knowledge to her, and the best way in my opinion isn’t telling her, but to show her the world myself."
"I understand that parents including myself want the safe side of everything, but the problem is we need to take a little leap of faith for interesting life experiences."
Taking leaps yourself and helping others do the same is kinda what its all about right?
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As always, thanks for reading!
Velo Cult represents a new kind of 'retail experience,' combining a bike shop with a community hub containing a bar (coffee and beer), a stage, and a theater in the basement for events.
"The status quo for women won’t change until more men in the industry speak up on our behalf, and hold brands accountable for the way women are portrayed in cycling." – Chris Garrison
On that note, props to Marit and the team at Strongher for their Strongher Stamp initiative!
Stoked to see the Berlin Bicycle Week Special edition issue of Fahrstil later this week in Berlin! Looks like I'll be riding with my bud Stefano & Ilya from Aspire this Saturday morning. Maybe the Standert homies Monday before heading to the show. See you there!
I've linked to @laurenthaug before. His breakdown of activate.com’s 136 page report entitled Technology and Media Outlook 2016 is solid: "Technology and media are converging (technology needs content and vice versa) and it’s starting to form a coherent picture; a “unified stack” of content, services, products and channels."
The relentless pursuit of success is valorised in our culture, but taking the long way around is often the best. Spoiler alert: Most people aren’t extremely gritty & slack (not the app) is often a better indicator of potential success than grit. The notion that hard work and passion are all that is necessary for success begins to seem woefully naïve.
"the days of trading in your degree certificate for a nice safe job offer are gone, and who knows if they will ever return." Don’t Get a Job… Make a Job tells the stories of these new-gen trailblazers amid the changing world; it explores their strategies, introduces their working methods and tells exactly how and why they chose to make their own way.
"25% of leads are qualified and ready to buy, and 50% of leads are qualified but not ready to buy. So, understand where prospects fit within your sales funnel. Every customer is on a different buying journey."
"Keeping the sales-contribution to the cost-of-customer-acquisition low will increase payback periods, sales efficiency and many other go-to-market metrics, enabling your startup to grow faster with less capital required." Tomasz Tunguz is a venture capitalist at Redpoint and writes about startups, fund raising, SaaS companies, and best practices for founders.
"For example, take an early stage eCommerce business with an LTV of €30 and an overall CPA of €20. This looks like a solid business. Digging deeper..."
Resident Twotone Consulting PR powerhouse, aspiring DJ & often author over at Krooks, Guy van Koolwijk has been traveling In Peru recently:
Working remotely certainly got a new dimension when you're doing it from the heights of the Peruvian Andes at 3500m and it has been an awesome trip! We went by train through the jungle to Aguas Calientes, a crazy mountain village with really nice hot springs. The morning after we went to Machu Picchu and his lesser known, but more photographed brother, Wayna Picchu. It was a hell of a climb, but it was definitely worth it as the view was amazing!